First off, Kefalonia is a beautiful island but very hilly so a car is a must, even if you intend on staying in Lassis for the full fortnight. The Gallini apartments are ok. The front 6 apartments overlooking the sea are big and spacious, if a little old, and are much better than the side apartments. We asked the rep about using the lassi pool and she basically said that if you ask them they will say no, but if you don't ask them then they won't know !!. I'm not sure which hill the people from earlier on this page are referring to when they say it isn't too bad but i'd have to disagree ! I'm a healthy 28 yeard old and trust me - that hill is a killer ! We struggled with it for a week and then gave up and hired a car (the hill is a doddle in a car!) Also, the best beach in Lassi is long Beach but takes approx 20 - 30 minutes to walk to so I'd really suggest hiring a car, the roads are virutally empty - not like England !
Overall - a half decent accomodation, in a nice place on a beautiful island.
PS - On a side note, on our last few days at the gallini the owner came and informed us that Golden sun hadn't paid any money to any apartments in Kefalonia since last year and they had heard rumours that they may be going under. A note went up on our last daying informing the newly arriving guests that they couldn't stay at the gallini until golden sun had paid them so I think we may well be the last people to stay here under golden sun.
I know they say Greece apartments are basic but there are standards. For some reason a sign said the apartments were called Haniotis but has been changed to Galani, I reckon because of the complaints. The apartment was really spacious and the views (we were at the front) were fantastic but that's all it really had going for it. Horrible decor in the kitchen and bathroom - something from the 70's. There was no hot water all week so cold showers. Dangerous steps in the bathroom also. The water from the hand held shower covered the entire bathroom floor and left a pool of water which didn't drain away making it slippy. There was a nail sticking out of the bottom of the patio door which my friend hurt her foot on. The owner's response was "well if you've done it once you won't do it again". There's a steep hill you have to climb to get to the main road and it's also off the beaten track with minimal lighting so I'd say the elderly/disabled would have difficulty/wouldn't be suitable for them and also women on their own to watch out - we were followed 3 nights in a row by local lads in their cars which was quite scarey especially when your just a small group of women. You can't use the pool next door at the Hotel Lassi even though brochure says you can. The reps did nothing to resolve this even though it was a problem last season. Not a great place at all.
four adults staying galani studios what they like any swimming pools near by best places to eat an drink prices etc going 1st may 2004 will it be warm cheers
Galini suited us just fine.
We arrived at the apartments and they were clean and suited our needs. We didn't even use the kitchen facilites apart from the fridge - who cooks on holiday anyway !?!?
We had a lovely terrace with sea views and the beds were comfy. We didn't get a towel change - but we'd brought extra.
We also had a cute family of kittens and Snoop the dog visiting us which was nice.
If you want cheap, basic and clean accommodation then I'd stay at Galini again.
just come back from galini appts lassi. Found out the last day they were used in the greek version of changing rooms.They used an old german design guru called himmler and had gone for the death camp look - seem to me they got it spot on. 2 small cooking rings, no work surface, very few knifes and forks, no clean towels all week, one of the beds had a spring sticking through, room only cleaned and bin emptied twice all week, water from shower brown. When this was pointed out to rep reply was "well this is greece"!!. When we booked it were told we could use the lassi hotel pool - just next door. When we got there and tried to use the pool we found we were not allowed. The rep wasn't even aware of this situation and kindly informed us we could use a pool about half a mile away - great!
We were given a side apartment which was dirty and had cockroaches. The shower water was murky and the drains blocked. There was only two hob rings and no work surface so you could not cook anything very easily - also no utensils to cook with. The maid only vivited twice so the toilet bin was left to us to empty and we got no clean sheets and the towells were never cleaned. Apparently you can use the Lassi pool - well the owner chased everyone one away 'no galini here plaese'. We had to leave room by 10am when our flight was 7 hours later - there was no room for the bags and no toilet facilties so we had to sit either on the beach or on the wall outside.
Kefalonis is beautiful and the beaches are very clean - just don't stay here. The hill isn't too bad - but takes a while in the midday heat.
WE STAYED AT THE GALINI APARTEMENTS IN JULY 03 AND THEY WERE REALLY NICE. LUCKY ENOUGH TO BE SITUATED AT THE FRONT OVERLOOKING THE SEA, SIDE APARTEMENTS NOT AS GOOD. CAN USE THE POOL AT THE LASSI HOTEL BUT THERE IS A SMALL COVE HIDDEN AT THE FRONT OF THE APARTEMENTS, JUST LOOK FOR THE HIDDEN PATH. THE HILL THAT YOU HAVE TO WALK TO GET TO THE MAIN STREET IN LASSI IS NOT BAD AT ALL, EXCEPT IN THE BOILING MIDDAY HEAT! APARTEMENTS CLEAN BUT BASIC, ASK FOR AN EXTRA CHANGE OF SHEETS AS WE ONLY HAD ONE CHANGE IN TWO WEEKS- APART FROM THAT A VERY NICE HOLIDAY.
We have just booked to go to the Galini Appts in August 2003 with Golden Sun. Have checked for info on the web and it does not look anything like the picture of these appts on the Golden Sun Web page. Is it the same place. Says you can use the pool at nearby Lassi Hotel. Would like to hear from anyone that has been with comments etc. It looks to me as though it could be on a hill??? Please can some one advise. Thanks
Basic but okay, sea view rooms much better than the rooms on the side of the building.
Does anyone Know if the Galini are taking on guest next season as i have been searching the net and asking holiday companies and have not had any luck so far can any one help?
Beautiful location with balcony overlooking the beach. Super view across to Lixouri. Huge apartment with 5 beds in 2 rooms and separate kitchenette and bathroom. Could have done with some better pillows though - it was like sleeping on a bag of marbles. Bit of a trudge uphill to the main road. Wonderful 2 weeks.
Great location only two minute walk away from the beach. Recommend the first bay you come to, smaller, quieter and great for snorkeling and swimming. Dolphin Supermarket is just up the road with everything you could possibly want. Appartments were ok. Fairly small but fine as a base for a couple of weeks. You'd do well to find such affordable accomodation in such a good position.
We stayed there for 2 weeks with a couple of friends who had been there before. The apartments are well kept and quite big. The staff are really friendly and helpful.We had a great view from the patio. It's not to far from the supermarket which is up a slight incline and about 5-10 mins from the Tavernas. If you like peace and quiet it is the best place to stay. We are defently going back again.